3. Medical check-up in HCM City

I drove my family to HCM City on Saturday, April 25. My friend and high school classmate Tan called and invited me to a small party at a restaurant on next Sunday evening. Although I was not at the best mood and I was still on a fruit juice diet, I accepted his invitation as a chance to see my friends, because by this time I already knew that I should leave Vietnam for the U.S. soon.

On Sunday evening, April 26, I went with my wife and sons to the party dinner. There were many delicious dishes of deer meat there, but I did not eat anything. When my friends asked why I do not eat, I explained briefly my conditions and said that I will go to the French-Vietnam hospital on Monday for a medical check-up.

Incidentally, there was a medical doctor at the dinner, Mr. Binh, who works at HCM City hospital of tropical diseases. Bing told me that if I could cancel my appointment at the French-VN hospital, he would be able to arrange for a speedy check-up at his hospital tomorrow. I happily accepted his offer.

On Monday morning (April 27) I called the French-VN hospital to cancel my appointment there, and headed to the hospital of tropical diseases. With Binh’s help, I could do all necessary blood and urine tests, ultrasound and CT scan in the same day. In effect, Binh has helped me to save at least one extra day, and possibly two or more days, and this is critically important time saving !

At the end of the day, I had all results in my hands. The diagnose is grim: bile duct obstruction, caused by narrowing of the common bile duct (stricture), or by a tumor. Bing sent me to a surgeon who is his friend. The surgeon said that my condition is serious and I should return to the U.S. to seek medical treatment as soon as possible.

So we decided to leave VN and return to the U.S. But there was a major problem: during April 28-May 3 there is a big holiday in Vietnam, so the soonest we could return is May 4.

But we were again lucky. On April 29 evening, I visited my uncle Khanh, his wife An, and to say a farewell. My uncle and all in his family are very close to me since my childhood and throughout my entire life. I told them what has happened to me. They were very concerned and all stressed that I should return to the U.S. immediately. I said all ticket offices are closed until next Monday. Their son, Tuan Anh, then said that he can help change my tickets right away. He picked up his phone,  called a number and asked to change my tickets (for myself, my wife and sons) to May 1. After about 15 minutes, it was confirmed that we can fly on May 1.

On May 1 we flew in the morning from HCM City to Hanoi. My family met us in the airport, and brought us home. When heard that we would leave immediately in the evening of the same day, my mother was very angry, to say the least. At first, my sisters wanted to hide my health problems from my mother, but because my mother was so angry, they had to tell her a half of the truth, that I am sick, although it is not serious but because of this I need to return to the U.S. for medical treatment. After hearing that I am sick, my mother’s mood has instantly changed from being very angry to being very concerned and she cried so much all the remaining time. She even insisted to see me to the airport (what she did not do for tens years since she is now 97 years old).

 

This entry was posted in How it all happened ?. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment